Log inUsernamePassword
Log me on automatically each visit    
Register
Register
Log in to check your private messages
Log in to check your private messages
SMS Forum Index » SMS User Support

Post new topic   Reply to topic
Webmin and S.M.S Functions Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
vivanguarda
Member


Joined: 01 May 2009
Posts: 98

PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2009 5:03 am    Post subject: Webmin and S.M.S Functions Reply with quote

Hi!!! . I´m a newbie and this is my first post in this forum. I'm very surprised about this project and I´m searching on Webmin functions. Then... 1) I need a local network configuration or can S.M.S use Internet only?; 2) Are there S.M.S packages to install in wokstations or a single server machine?; 3) Are there S.M.S tutorials to explain it??; and, 4) Should I use workstatios netconfig or server can choose ip number to network map??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerasimos_h
Site Admin


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1743
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2009 9:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello...
SMS is a standalone Server, you don't need to install anything to other machines, and you can't use it either in a local or public network.
For now there are some tutorials in forum (some of those are deprecated to older versions of SMS), and the wiki page at http://sms.it-ccs.com/wiki/.
What exactly you want to do?

gerasimos_h

_________________
Superb! Mini Server Project Manager
http://sms.it-ccs.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vivanguarda
Member


Joined: 01 May 2009
Posts: 98

PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2009 12:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wolud like to use SMS in a cyber/internet-cafe so in the control server will be installed a timer programm too. Then can I do a network using SMS only? And the workstations how can I do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerasimos_h
Site Admin


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1743
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2009 7:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your timer program support linux? I suppose it will be something like deepfreeze.
Despite that you can use SMS as a file and DHCP Server.
You have to be more specific on what you want to do on your workstations, what their limitations will be.

gerasimos_h

_________________
Superb! Mini Server Project Manager
http://sms.it-ccs.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vivanguarda
Member


Joined: 01 May 2009
Posts: 98

PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2009 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Timer programm supports linux and I'm using a network where there are Slackware Workstations and a Ubuntu Server. I intend to change and update server using S.M.S project and take on Squid possibilities having a single distro in use. In workstations are played Cedega/Wine Games and internet acess.

Gerasimos, thank you for your attention!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerasimos_h
Site Admin


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1743
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2009 9:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For squid or dansguardian you need to configure your server as a gateway/router.
You will need 2 network cards, 1 for public and 1 for local network.
Use efg firewall generator to configure your firewall script.

gerasimos_h

_________________
Superb! Mini Server Project Manager
http://sms.it-ccs.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vivanguarda
Member


Joined: 01 May 2009
Posts: 98

PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2009 6:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

All rights, my dear! I´m having another doubt and I `m worried. Now I´m using a couple of network realtek cards in a machine running an Ubuntu server. Then I ´m going to change Ubuntu distro to Slackware 12.2 server. After that what to do? 1) Should I configure a local network using a netconfig, for instance, or are there these features ( networks configuration ) in Webmin utilization?; 2) Is it possible an interation Timer-Cafe / SMS programm?; and, 3) Are there scripts to delete tmp, orphans or cached arquives on SMS project??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
baboo
Senior Member


Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 676

PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2009 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. You can use Webmin but on initial setup I would use netconfig -lcd from command line. This is a modified script by Gerasimos that will put your hostname and domain name in config files. Very handy.
Also, be aware that slackware sees eth0 as the first nic. So, if you have an onboard nic and are not using it, it will still setup eth0 as first nic. I have two 1Gig cards and an onboard 100M card. So, I use 'nano /etc/rc.d/rc.inet1.conf' to configure nics. That way I see what is being done and accuracy. Hope this doesn't confuse you.

I have used Webmin to configure nics. It usually works well.

2. and 3. Gerasimos will have to answer.

We will try to help. Good resources for packages are: slackware.com, linuxpackages.net, slackware.com/~alien, slackbuilds.org.

good luck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerasimos_h
Site Admin


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1743
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2009 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know anything about open source timer cafe software, if you know a good one I'm open to suggestions.
You can add a cronjob for deleting certain files from /tmp.
Most of them are cleared on shutdown.

gerasimos_h

_________________
Superb! Mini Server Project Manager
http://sms.it-ccs.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vivanguarda
Member


Joined: 01 May 2009
Posts: 98

PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2010 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am going to continue this topic and looking for Squid info!!!

1) Are there squid.conf in the system?
2) How can I configure Squid to charter workstations in use and improve bandwidth to it and reduce traffic in machine unless requests?
3) Do you know htb?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerasimos_h
Site Admin


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1743
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2010 3:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. There is already a basic setup for squid and all you need to do is to start squid, of course it's wise to alter the config to your needs through webmin menu.

2. Either set proxy server (SMS) on all machines or use your SMS as a Gateway/router which it will limit bandwidth per IP or classes.
Some info is available at
http://sms.it-ccs.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=433&start=0&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=

3. Once you change your configuration to Gateway/router, the are dozens of ways to do QoS, traffic shaping or use layer7 match (requires kernel 2.6.33.5-l7).

gerasimos_h

_________________
Superb! Mini Server Project Manager
http://sms.it-ccs.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vivanguarda
Member


Joined: 01 May 2009
Posts: 98

PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2010 3:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was studying about Layer 7 and I think it's used in a sophisticated enterprise. It's a power! Htb-tools is a very simple project that help simplify the dificult of bandwidht allocation and is interesting when Squid delay pools defines a rigid achievement. So HTB can be used in dynamical ( or hierarquical I don' t know ) application. Then if I buy a main of 10Mbs and shared it in 10 workstations using 8kb/s when turned off a machine, Htb programm do another bandwidht setting and add its 8kB/s automatically in others 9 workstations.


http://htb-tools.skydevel.ro/[url]

http://linux.softpedia.com/get/System/Networking/HTB-tools-5578.shtml[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vivanguarda
Member


Joined: 01 May 2009
Posts: 98

PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2010 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gerasimos, Can you help me? I´m a newbie having a strange dhcp trouble.

Now I´m trying to do a router, but I can´t sucess in dhpc internet conection. Curiously, this machine was tested in my home where I used a bridge dhcp modem and it ocurred perfectly. When I tried used it in cyber/internet cafe not working. Cyber Cafe is working now using a Ubuntu Server. Dns are 200.149.55.140 and 200.165.132.147 also in eth0/dhcp internet and eth1 local ethernet.

SMS during boot showed eth0 adding route 169.254.0.0 and dynamic IP in 169.254.xx.xxx class. Dns aren´t saved in /etc/resolv.conf and I don´t know gateway?


I did:

1) netconfig
2) route -n
3)/etc/rc.d/rc.inet1 restart
4) modules are up
5) But route add default gw I don´t know. Is it a same gateway used in Ubuntu Server if I use the same modem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerasimos_h
Site Admin


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1743
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2010 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

169.254.x.x means not getting anything, no DHCP on router/server.
Here some things to check...
Does your aDSL router has DHCP server on?
Is eth0 connected to your router's lan port?
Are you using a router or a modem only?
check /etc.rc.d/rc,inet1.conf for static IP and gateway, if you use static IP you can add dns in /etc/resolv.conf.
If your connection is [sDSL router] -> [ubuntu] -> [SMS] you need to enable dhcp server in ubuntu or add manual IP in SMS, but I believe you want to replace ubuntu.
The external gateway is from your ISP, so will be the same, so your DNS.

gerasimos_h

_________________
Superb! Mini Server Project Manager
http://sms.it-ccs.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vivanguarda
Member


Joined: 01 May 2009
Posts: 98

PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2010 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I changed my modem. This modem have been routed and there isn`t a dhcp service. Now I get SMS server internet conection , but I don`t ping workstation.

My route -n output:
#route -n
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
192.168.1.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 202 0 0 eth0
127.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 lo
0.0.0.0 192.168.1.254 0.0.0.0 UG 202 0 0 eth0


I used 192.168.1.4 Worstation Static Ip , 192.168.1.254 Gateway and Primary Dns Provider but ping is breaking down yet.

I saw Eth 1 is up too and /etc/rules70-pesistent... is ok !

# ifconfig -a
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:17:31:d2:e7:d3
inet addr:192.168.1.3 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::217:31ff:fed2:e7d3/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:36038 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:44505 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:15897769 (15.1 MiB) TX bytes:8662504 (8.2 MiB)
Interrupt:23 Base address:0x6400

eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:08:54:31:54:d5
BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Interrupt:17 Base address:0xc800

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

I used this command to active ip forward. What can be the problem?

echo 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    SMS Forum Index » SMS User Support All times are GMT + 2 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 1 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum

SMS - Superb! Mini Server Project © 2016
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
iCGstation v1.0 Template By Ray © 2003, 2004 iOptional