Log inUsernamePassword
Log me on automatically each visit    
Register
Register
Log in to check your private messages
Log in to check your private messages
SMS Forum Index » General Discussion

Post new topic   Reply to topic
Upgrading my network from 100Mb to 1000mb Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
miikew
Member


Joined: 28 Oct 2009
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Wed Jan 22, 2014 12:09 pm    Post subject: Upgrading my network from 100Mb to 1000mb Reply with quote

Hello
i want to increase throughput of my network, and decided to move to 1gbit technology
first i will describe how my network is organized

routerWIFI_with_modemDSL20MB-Switch(100MB)-SERWER_SMS
........../......................................................\ ..........................
..Android phones.....................................7clients......................

so you can see that if 3 people want to watch 8GB_MKV_movie from server there is a problem with capacity of the network.

first i want to change switch to 1gbit model, than i need to change network card on server and here is a question, which cheap model is recognized by SMS out of the box ? is there any benefits of putting 2 or 3 1gbit network cards into server ?
what should i check buying 1gbit switch, is there any difference between dlink and netgear or tplink(cheapest)

i hope cables will handle more data Smile

thanks in advance for answering.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerasimos_h
Site Admin


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1743
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Wed Jan 22, 2014 5:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've said it in the past, on another topic, marvel chipsets are the best for me, regarding performance and stability...
The cheap realtek 8168/9 nics under 24/7, don't last long, after few months end up dead, and beside the performance is poor due to linux driver...

Performance affected by CPU and RAM too for speed and of course your switch quality, but in generally marvel are x5 faster...

So brand has nothing to do with it, only the chipset, for instance
dlink DGE-510T - > realtek 816x family
dlink DGE-530T -> marvel

Ethernet bonding as known in linux, or link aggregation in cisco equipment will give you advantage over lot of connections, but to achieve the best of it, you will need a managed switch that support link aggregation...

Switch from wifi to 1Gbit cable you will see big difference, that's for sure...
SMS has no problem recognize NICs, you just need to edit udev rules after switching or adding new nics, because new nics will have a new device name like eth1, eth2 e.t.c.

gerasimos_h

_________________
Superb! Mini Server Project Manager
http://sms.it-ccs.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
miikew
Member


Joined: 28 Oct 2009
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Wed Jan 29, 2014 4:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi , i bought
Dlink DGS-1008A
Planet ENW-9700 PCI-E

i hope that SMS will recognize this card, otherwise i will need some help from you Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
miikew
Member


Joined: 28 Oct 2009
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Sat Feb 01, 2014 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok i setup everything, my PCs are have now 1gb/s connection, but ...

my SMS server recognized Planet ENW-9700 PCI-E and i have connection with switch but only 100mb/s

how to enable 1gb/s ?

sky2 eth0: Link is down.
sky2 eth0: Link is up at 1000 Mbps, full duplex, flow control both
sky2 eth0: Link is down.
sky2 eth0: Link is up at 1000 Mbps, full duplex, flow control both
sky2 eth0: Link is down.
sky2 eth0: Link is up at 1000 Mbps, full duplex, flow control both
sky2 eth0: Link is down.
sky2 eth0: Link is up at 100 Mbps, full duplex, flow control both



it looks like something wrong with the cable, but i tried 3 and the last is original from router (not 1gbe) but 5E (4pair enchenced smth smth ....)

it has 1m, whats wrong ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerasimos_h
Site Admin


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1743
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2014 4:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Assuming your switch is a gigabit one and your cable is a cat 6 (or 5E) with 4 twisted pairs and not a crossed one, you should have a gigabit connection...

What are those 3 with 1000 mbps before the 100 Mbps...?
Did you unplug the cable those times...?

gerasimos_h

_________________
Superb! Mini Server Project Manager
http://sms.it-ccs.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
miikew
Member


Joined: 28 Oct 2009
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2014 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i tried 3 different cables, all 5E, my windows PCs says 1GbE but i didnt checked real speed so maybe smth is still wrong overally

searching google i found some posts about marvel driver problems in early kernels, dont know is it fixed in my 12.2.0 (SMS 1.6 ? )

btw this is log from starting server, not during unpluging cable
Feb 3 15:05:02 mediaserver kernel: sky2 eth0: Link is up at 1000 Mbps, full duplex, flow control both
Feb 3 15:05:02 mediaserver kernel: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): eth0: link becomes ready
Feb 3 15:05:02 mediaserver kernel: sky2 eth0: Link is down.
Feb 3 15:05:02 mediaserver kernel: sky2 eth0: Link is up at 1000 Mbps, full duplex, flow control both
Feb 3 15:05:02 mediaserver kernel: sky2 eth0: Link is down.
Feb 3 15:05:03 mediaserver kernel: Installing knfsd (copyright (C) 1996 okir@monad.swb.de).
Feb 3 15:05:03 mediaserver kernel: NFSD: Using /var/lib/nfs/v4recovery as the NFSv4 state recovery directory
Feb 3 15:05:03 mediaserver kernel: NFSD: unable to find recovery directory /var/lib/nfs/v4recovery
Feb 3 15:05:03 mediaserver kernel: NFSD: starting 90-second grace period
Feb 3 15:05:03 mediaserver kernel: sky2 eth0: Link is up at 100 Mbps, full duplex, flow control both
Feb 3 15:05:04 mediaserver kernel: eth0: no IPv6 routers present
Feb 3 15:05:04 mediaserver kernel: ip_tables: (C) 2000-2006 Netfilter Core Team
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerasimos_h
Site Admin


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1743
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2014 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What "ethtool eth0" says?
And if you do
"ethtool -s eth0 speed 1000"

gerasimos_h

_________________
Superb! Mini Server Project Manager
http://sms.it-ccs.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
miikew
Member


Joined: 28 Oct 2009
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2014 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you log into my serv and check it im not experienced linux user, i already give you acces s some massages ago
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerasimos_h
Site Admin


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1743
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2014 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK! I just take a sneak peak, funny thing is I found a similar marvel chipset using t sky2 driver and I plug it in on sms64 current and negotiate at 100Mbps only, so now I have a test case to work...
I'll take a look and let you know...

gerasimos_h

_________________
Superb! Mini Server Project Manager
http://sms.it-ccs.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
miikew
Member


Joined: 28 Oct 2009
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2014 8:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

my wife always says that im a lucky guy Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerasimos_h
Site Admin


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1743
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 12:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Haven't test it again, but I got 1000Mbps connection by removing kernel driver and probe it again like

Code:
ifconfig eth0 down
rmmod sky2
modprobe sky2
/etc/rc.d/rc.inet1 eth0_restart


Just give it a try...

gerasimos_h

_________________
Superb! Mini Server Project Manager
http://sms.it-ccs.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
miikew
Member


Joined: 28 Oct 2009
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 9:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

is there any chance to do it with some script ? i don't have physical acces to the server and if i execute first command ifconfig eth0 down i will loose access to the server i think
or maybe im wrong ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerasimos_h
Site Admin


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1743
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 3:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The above it's a script already, just add the above to /etc/rc.d/rc.local or create a new one like

Code:
#!/bin/sh

ifconfig eth0 down
rmmod sky2
modprobe sky2
ifconfig eth0 up
/etc/rc.d/rc.inet1 eth0_restart


Do you have physical access in case something goes wrong?

gerasimos_h

_________________
Superb! Mini Server Project Manager
http://sms.it-ccs.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
miikew
Member


Joined: 28 Oct 2009
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i can only power off and on

i manage to do above with command

ifconfig eth0 down && rmmod sky2 && modprobe sky2 && ifconfig eth0 up && /etc/rc.d/rc.inet1 eth0_restart

its not working

i found that this is sky2 driver problem, i dont have knowledge to install original sk98lin driver from marvell website (its recomended) i get some error when i try to install it by
install.sh -s && reboot
smth happens and its not working

i succesfully compile and load (!!!) the sk98lin driver for marvell 88E8053 but still i only could get 100MB link, dont know what to do, end of ideas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerasimos_h
Site Admin


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1743
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK! If you built the driver and it's loading you must blacklist the sky2...
"lsmod|grep sk98lin" should list it...

Create a file /etc/modprobe.d/marvell.conf
Code:
blacklist sky2


If anything goes wrong, you would need physical access though, to re enable ethernets...

gerasimos_h

_________________
Superb! Mini Server Project Manager
http://sms.it-ccs.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    SMS Forum Index » General Discussion All times are GMT + 2 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum

SMS - Superb! Mini Server Project © 2016
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
iCGstation v1.0 Template By Ray © 2003, 2004 iOptional