Log inUsernamePassword
Log me on automatically each visit    
Register
Register
Log in to check your private messages
Log in to check your private messages
SMS Forum Index » Installation Support

Post new topic   Reply to topic
Installation problem
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Gerovit
Junior Member


Joined: 29 Dec 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 11:54 am    Post subject: Installation problem Reply with quote

Hello,

After installing from SMS.Native.CD-1.6.3-Install.iso , at first reboot, this happens:



Also this error pops up during installation of packages:

Code:
install/doinst.sh: line 1: /sbin/depmod: not found


I re-downloaded the SMS.Native.CD-1.6.3-Install.iso, did cheksum, everything OK, reinstalled, same error during package install and reboot.

What should I do?


Regards,

Bruno.



disco.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  154.6 KB
 Viewed:  795 Time(s)

disco.jpg


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerasimos_h
Site Admin


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1753
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The error during install, it's OK to ignore.
Can you be more specific on installation type?
Your disk partition? RAID, LVM or plain? Specific hardware, like RAID controllers?

You can try to boot from hugesmp kernel, boot from SMS.Native.CD-Install and at boot prompt type:
Code:
boot: hugesmp.s root=/dev/sda1 rdinit= ro

replacing sda1 with your root partition, and check if it boots.

gerasimos_h

_________________
Superb! Mini Server Project Manager
http://sms.it-ccs.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Gerovit
Junior Member


Joined: 29 Dec 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Plain installation, no RAID, no LVM.

I have one hard disk and I did the partitions with gParted 2011-7 in the following way:

dev/sda1 - ext 2, flagged s boot, during setup marked as /boot
dev/sda2 - linuxswap
dev/sda3 - ext4, used as root, 6GB
dev/sda4 - ext4, during setup marked as /home

After typing:

Code:
boot: hugesmp.s root=/dev/sda1 rdinit= ro


The procedure stops after some time and has few errors:

Quote:
VFS: Cannot open root device "dev/sda3" or unknown-block(0,0)
Please apped a correct "root=" boot option; here are the available partitions
.
.
.
Kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(0,0)


Is the problem that I created partitions using gParted and not with cfdisk?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerasimos_h
Site Admin


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1753
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you had or have another device attached during install?
Boot from SMS.Native.CD-Install.iso.
Once you login as root type "blkid" and check if partitions have the same number.
You should see something like

Code:
dev/sda1 UUID=".." TYPE="ext2"
dev/sda2 UUID=".." TYPE="swap"
dev/sda3 UUID=".." TYPE="ext4"
dev/sda4 UUID=".." TYPE="ext4"


Also check if boot sda1 is marked as bootable with
Code:
fdisk -l /dev/sda
you should see an '*' beside partition(/dev/sda1 *)

While you are booted with the installer mount partitions like

Code:
mount /dev/sda3 /mnt
mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/boot
mount /dev/sda4 /mnt/home


if it mounts OK chroot to mnt and type lilo.
Code:
chroot  /mnt
lilo
exit


If the partition numbering is altered edit /etc/lilo.conf /etc/fstab and create a new initrd.gz and type lilo again.

gerasimos_h

_________________
Superb! Mini Server Project Manager
http://sms.it-ccs.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Gerovit
Junior Member


Joined: 29 Dec 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gerasimos_h wrote:
Did you had or have another device attached during install?


No, except CD itself.

gerasimos_h wrote:


While you are booted with the installer mount partitions like

Code:
mount /dev/sda3 /mnt
mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/boot
mount /dev/sda4 /mnt/home


if it mounts OK...


When I type that code there is no reply, so how should I know if mounting was successful or not?

gerasimos_h wrote:
if it mounts OK chroot to mnt and type lilo.
Code:
chroot  /mnt
lilo
exit


If the partition numbering is altered edit /etc/lilo.conf /etc/fstab and create a new initrd.gz and type lilo again.


When I type the following code:

Code:
chroot  /mnt


I get error:

Quote:
chroot: failed to run command '/bin/sh': No such file or directory


When I type following code:

Code:
lilo


I get error:

Quote:
Warning: '/proc/partitions/' does not exist, disk scan bypassed
Added SMS *
One warning was issued.


Last edited by Gerovit on Thu Dec 29, 2011 4:36 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gerovit
Junior Member


Joined: 29 Dec 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I checked both /etc/lilo.conf and /etc/fstab, they both have everything OK. But I did notice one thing in lilo.conf:

Code:
vga = 791


Since my main problem is graphical glitch after reboot maybe I should change that value? Maybe the problem is in resolution, or something?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerasimos_h
Site Admin


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1753
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Once you mount them you could list directories.
ls -l /mnt
sda3 should have whole tree( bin boot, lib usr etc...)

ls -l /mnt/boot
kernels and config

ls -l /mnt/home
administrator folder

Quote:
chroot: failed to run command '/bin/sh': No such file or directory

Did you made a full install?
If partitions numbering is OK you probably have an incomplete installation.

You can try to change to vga=normal.
What vga adapter you have?
Did you use a generic kernel and a initrd image or a huge kernel?

gerasimos_h

_________________
Superb! Mini Server Project Manager
http://sms.it-ccs.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Gerovit
Junior Member


Joined: 29 Dec 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 4:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gerasimos_h wrote:
Once you mount them you could list directories.
ls -l /mnt
sda3 should have whole tree( bin boot, lib usr etc...)

ls -l /mnt/boot
kernels and config

ls -l /mnt/home
administrator folder


Shows everything!

Quote:
chroot: failed to run command '/bin/sh': No such file or directory


Actually it seems that it was my fault, I got that error after typing that command twice in a row.

gerasimos_h wrote:
Did you made a full install?
If partitions numbering is OK you probably have an incomplete installation.


Yes, full install, I followed your instructions.

gerasimos_h wrote:
You can try to change to vga=normal.


Will do, and I'll post the results.

gerasimos_h wrote:
What vga adapter you have?


Now that you mention it, I have Radeon HD2600 which has 2 DVI adapters, so I connected VGA cable with DVI-to-VGA converter. Could that be the cause of problem?

gerasimos_h wrote:
Did you use a generic kernel and a initrd image or a huge kernel?


The one which is recommended - hugesmp
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gerovit
Junior Member


Joined: 29 Dec 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 5:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gerasimos_h wrote:
You can try to boot from hugesmp kernel, boot from SMS.Native.CD-Install and at boot prompt type:
Code:
boot: hugesmp.s root=/dev/sda1 rdinit= ro

replacing sda1 with your root partition, and check if it boots.

gerasimos_h


After reboot, I tried with this command, and it went through, but only to lead me to the same result as in the first post.

But now the graphical glitching is even worse.

So if I understand correctly, everything is installed fine, the only problem is with the graphics? Maybe I could try something else in lilo except normal?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerasimos_h
Site Admin


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1753
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. You can try to add an entry for generic-smp kernel in lilo.conf and try to boot with that.

2. Once you boot with either kernel try
lsmod|grep radeon
and remove module with 'rmod'

3. you can try to build AMD's proprietary driver.

gerasimos_h

_________________
Superb! Mini Server Project Manager
http://sms.it-ccs.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Gerovit
Junior Member


Joined: 29 Dec 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gerasimos_h wrote:
1. You can try to add an entry for generic-smp kernel in lilo.conf and try to boot with that.


In which line? Would it be better to reinstall with generic kernel?

gerasimos_h wrote:
2. Once you boot with either kernel try
lsmod|grep radeon
and remove module with 'rmod'


But how can I type that when the glitching appears right after booting? I can type commands only when I boot from native CD.

gerasimos_h wrote:
3. you can try to build AMD's proprietary driver.


Uh, I'm new to linux and I don't have the required knowledge.


Thank you for your time and answers, I'll try first 2 points, hopefully it will solve my problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerasimos_h
Site Admin


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1753
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 10:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just add a new entry under default at the end and type 'lilo'
Code:
image = /boot/vmlinuz-generic-2.6.39.4-smp
  root = /dev/sda3
  label = SMS2
  read-only


If from SMS.Native.CD is booting, it should boot from lilo if you change vga mode.
Also you can use SSH to login from another machine.

gerasimos_h

_________________
Superb! Mini Server Project Manager
http://sms.it-ccs.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Gerovit
Junior Member


Joined: 29 Dec 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2011 3:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

gerasimos_h wrote:
1. You can try to add an entry for generic-smp kernel in lilo.conf and try to boot with that.



gerasimos_h wrote:
Just add a new entry under default at the end and type 'lilo'
Code:
image = /boot/vmlinuz-generic-2.6.39.4-smp
  root = /dev/sda3
  label = SMS2
  read-only


Unfortunately, it didn't help. I even reinstalled with generic-smp kernel.

gerasimos_h wrote:
2. Once you boot with either kernel try
lsmod|grep radeon
and remove module with 'rmod'


When I type lsmod|grep radeon nothing happens. If I type grep radeon it just stands there...

I don't know what else to try, and I'd really like to use this distro, since it perfectly fits my needs...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerasimos_h
Site Admin


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1753
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2011 9:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Boot from SMS.Native.CD ( root=/dev/sda3) and post your 'lspci' and 'lsmod' outputs.


gerasimos_h

_________________
Superb! Mini Server Project Manager
http://sms.it-ccs.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    SMS Forum Index » Installation Support All times are GMT + 2 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum

SMS - Superb! Mini Server Project © 2016
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
iCGstation v1.0 Template By Ray © 2003, 2004 iOptional