Log inUsernamePassword
Log me on automatically each visit    
Register
Register
Log in to check your private messages
Log in to check your private messages
SMS Forum Index » Installation Support

Post new topic   Reply to topic
hi help plss
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nhazm
Junior Member


Joined: 12 Feb 2011
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:46 pm    Post subject: hi help plss Reply with quote

Hi
Good day to all

I am new in SMS linux server

first i successfully install SMS server in my old celeron comp.
using SMS Native Installation CD version 1.5.5 x86
with 256 mb ram and on board vga.
sda1 10 gb sms linux installed
sdb1 15 gb no files, sharing purpose <= this is my prob.

2nd I successfully install and share printer
hp laserjet2100 and hp 990c

and also i can share folder from sda1 partition.

using samba and cups.

but my problem is on sdb1 - ext3
I cant share any folder from sdb1.
but i can see it on partition manager in webmin.
but i cant see it in samba.

and second question.
how to put user and password in each shared folder.

ex.

folder 1
user: folder1
pass: 1234

folder 2

user: folser2
pass: 3214

and I have 1Tb hdd but not yet install.
dont know if i can add/use it. and i dont know how to add it in samba.

and my last question
can I disable other features.
and how to disable?
with out affecting webmin.

like not loading it during boot up.

all I just want is file and print sharing.

and i cannot use startx /kde gui.
bec. to laggy
I cant run webmin and cups.

only webmin in remote pc.

thank you
and more power
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerasimos_h
Site Admin


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1752
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2011 3:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need to edit /etc/samba/smb.conf and add a share and it's mount point.
to be able to see it.
But at first do you have your sdb1 partition mounted?
If not create the mount point with
Code:
mkdir /mnt/sdb1

and edit /etc/fstab and add a line
Code:
/dev/sdb1     /mnt/sdb1     ext3    defaults      1   1

and from now on it will automatically mount in /mnn/sdb1.
You can do the same for your 1TB disk.

If you want user access level you need to edit your smb.conf and change
security = share
to
security = user
and add the appropriate permissions in each share via webmin or swat.
You might need to create users and chown their dirs if you can't write on them.

Look this thread about disabling services and optimize your server.
http://sms.it-ccs.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=317

Do you have installed x-kde-addon?
You need this package for kde, if not install it, it's on your SMS.Native.CD under slackware/x.

gerasimos_h

_________________
Superb! Mini Server Project Manager
http://sms.it-ccs.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nhazm
Junior Member


Joined: 12 Feb 2011
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2011 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gerasimos_h wrote:
You need to edit /etc/samba/smb.conf and add a share and it's mount point.
to be able to see it.
But at first do you have your sdb1 partition mounted?
If not create the mount point with
Code:
mkdir /mnt/sdb1

and edit /etc/fstab and add a line
Code:
/dev/sdb1     /mnt/sdb1     ext3    defaults      1   1

and from now on it will automatically mount in /mnn/sdb1.
You can do the same for your 1TB disk.

If you want user access level you need to edit your smb.conf and change
security = share
to
security = user
and add the appropriate permissions in each share via webmin or swat.
You might need to create users and chown their dirs if you can't write on them.

Look this thread about disabling services and optimize your server.
http://sms.it-ccs.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=317

Do you have installed x-kde-addon?
You need this package for kde, if not install it, it's on your SMS.Native.CD under slackware/x.

gerasimos_h


Thank you this is a very big help

yes I install kde. I make full installation.
the only problem is when im inside GUI is too laggy for me to work inside GUI.

I got error massage when opening webmin and cups icons.
my only option is used webmin in remote pc.

may be becoz I only got intel celeron 900 mgz
and 256 mb ram.
for my practice unit.

thank you for your fast reply

I may be having more question to you as the day passing by
in practicing sms server.

Thank you more power
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    SMS Forum Index » Installation Support All times are GMT + 2 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum

SMS - Superb! Mini Server Project © 2016
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
iCGstation v1.0 Template By Ray © 2003, 2004 iOptional