Log me on automatically each visit    
Register
Register
SMS Forum Index » Installation Support

SMS.Native.CD-2.0.8-Install
View previous topic :: View next topic  
greyserf

PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2015 5:18 pm    Post subject: SMS.Native.CD-2.0.8-Install Reply with quote

Hi Folks,

Although I've had a number of years intermittently using & installing various linux flavours, I'm completely new to Slackware and SMS.

I'm trying to integrate a SMS server into my local nw to use as a dedicated samba and CUPS printserver (only those functions are needed - other machines take care of firewall, dns, dhcp etc). The machine I'm using for the printserver is an old Dell PIII with 384mb RAM, using the huge.s SMS kernel.

I'm doing the install and set-up offline (easier for security purposes) and can connect remotely using a CAT5 crossover cable from a Win7 netbook.

I've tried a number of installs now but each time encounter a CUPS error during booting:

Quote:
CUPS: Child exited on signal 4
Unable to start scheduler

After setting up network properties and configuring the various users etc., I then hit problems trying to configure CUPS.

1. When I go to the KDE GUI, I'm unable to start the CUPS Manage Printing app, which reports an error:

Quote:
Could not connect to host localhost (Port 631)

When I look for ports, e.g. with netstat, there is no evidence of port 631 actually being used.

2. When I try to use the local machine's Webmin interface via KDE, I also get an error, after completing the login form:

Quote:
An error occurred while loading https://localhost:10000/session-login.cpi
The pocess for the https://localhost protocol died unexpectedly

3. FYI, for both the Webmin and Manage Printing interfaces, I have tried using the loopback IP as a substitute for localhost, but the results are the same with 127.0.0.1 as for localhost.

4. I also tried to connect to the Manage Printing interface with Lynx but without success.