Log inUsernamePassword
Log me on automatically each visit    
Register
Register
Log in to check your private messages
Log in to check your private messages
SMS Forum Index » SMS User Support

Post new topic   Reply to topic
change MAC address
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
keopp
Senior Member


Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 160
Location: Romania

PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2010 4:58 pm    Post subject: change MAC address Reply with quote

Hello,

I have to clone my external's hw adress in order to keep my public IP unchanged.

I tryed this through rc.inet1.conf
Code:

# Config information for eth0:
IPADDR[0]=""
HWADDR[0]="ab:01:23:45:67:89"
NETMASK[0]=""
USE_DHCP[0]="yes"
DHCP_HOSTNAME[0]=""


After reboot, nothing changed, the mac is the same:
Code:

root@sms07:~# ifconfig eth0
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:C9:AA:9B:12:DD 
          inet addr:192.168.7.105  Bcast:192.168.7.255  Mask:255.255.255.0


NOTE: I used an DHCP allocated internal IP class for eth0 only for testing purposes.
I also used a "external" LAN scanner(LanHelper) but the MAC adress detected is the same original one, not the "clone".

Any suggestions please?

Cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerasimos_h
Site Admin


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1752
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2010 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Adding HWADDR[0] it should work, it's equal to
"ifconfig eth0 hw ether ab:01:23:45:67:89"
you can try doing it manual like

ifconfig eth0 down
ifconfig eth0 hw ether ab:01:23:45:67:89
dhcpcd eth0

gerasimos_h

_________________
Superb! Mini Server Project Manager
http://sms.it-ccs.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
keopp
Senior Member


Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 160
Location: Romania

PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2010 7:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Have tryed it allready.
After manual commands, ifconfig eth0 displays the new MAC, but after dhcpcd et0, on the dhcpd server logs, the DHCPOFFER is for the old original MAC.

I'm still digging.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keopp
Senior Member


Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 160
Location: Romania

PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2010 7:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK!

I've got it.

It seemes that there is a mechanism for validating the MAC's.

In my tests I first used "ab:01:23:45:67:89" and it didn't worked.
But when I put "00:01:23:44:55:88" it worked from the first shot even from rc.inet1.conf

Thanks for your support.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    SMS Forum Index » SMS User Support All times are GMT + 2 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum

SMS - Superb! Mini Server Project © 2016
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
iCGstation v1.0 Template By Ray © 2003, 2004 iOptional