Log inUsernamePassword
Log me on automatically each visit    
Register
Register
Log in to check your private messages
Log in to check your private messages
SMS Forum Index » SMS User Support

Post new topic   Reply to topic
New to server set up, help needed
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
wayne
Junior Member


Joined: 14 Sep 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2010 10:52 am    Post subject: New to server set up, help needed Reply with quote

greeting,

i read about SMS from distrowatch.
i am new to Linux world, and have beening just playing with some desktop distros.
lately i played with Slackware based OS and like it for keep it simple, stability, etc

so i was looking for a server and would like to have this as my project, home file server , file/print server, or file/printer server plus firewall.
some simple details on this old box are
1. celeron 2G CPU, 1G Ram, 40G harddisk, one interface 10/100M card, CDROM drive. USB ports.
2. too slow for watching youtube/video especially HD format, probably because of integrated graphic chip on board
3. can add two more IDE hard disk inside, or add using USB external harddisk.
4. would not want to add monitor due to space. once set up, monitor to be removed.
hope to be able to access via other computers on the LAN
5. currently i put USB disk drive behind wireless router ( with USB port), while it works fine, it is quite slow, probably due to its CPU speed. the most i get is 4-5MB/s transfer.

as i am new to linux, i took some time to learn distros setup and manage to be able to run some distros and do some simple command lines, but i am far from being able to trouble problems.

from what i read over few hours, this SMS seems to suit my project. but i must start somewhere to read up how to set up , test, and eventually when it is working, to put on network for file/print sharing,
here is some questions:

a, what kind of transfer speed would i expect to get using my old computer with SMS and with internal IDE drives?
b, what about transfer speed with USB external drive ( with USB2.0 interface).
c, is setting up Multi-function Copier possible? i have Brother MFC-7340.
d, if i am not using the file/print server, and switch it off, then when i want to use it, do i have to set it up again? or just power on and it can run itself?

any help is appreciated.
wayne
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerasimos_h
Site Admin


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1752
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2010 5:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
a) Your theoretically max speed of your 100Mbit network card it's about ~12MB if you could get 9-10MB it's good, and that depends on your network card, CPU, HDD and of course the quality of your MB.

b) There is only one way to find out, theoretically there shouldn't be any problem.

c) You need to download linux drivers from
http://welcome.solutions.brother.com/bsc/public_s/id/linux/en/download_prn.html#MFC-7340
Download rpms and use "rpm2tgz" to turn them to .tgz.

d) No need to install it again, just stop the service (CUPS).

gerasimos_h

_________________
Superb! Mini Server Project Manager
http://sms.it-ccs.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
wayne
Junior Member


Joined: 14 Sep 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2010 11:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

gerasimos_h wrote:
Hi,
a) Your theoretically max speed of your 100Mbit network card it's about ~12MB if you could get 9-10MB it's good, and that depends on your network card, CPU, HDD and of course the quality of your MB.

b) There is only one way to find out, theoretically there shouldn't be any problem.

c) You need to download linux drivers from
http://welcome.solutions.brother.com/bsc/public_s/id/linux/en/download_prn.html#MFC-7340
Download rpms and use "rpm2tgz" to turn them to .tgz.

d) No need to install it again, just stop the service (CUPS).

gerasimos_h

Thanks for reply, I was out of action for a while on other matters.
Now back to this subject.
a) since the speed using 100M NIC is rather low, I was thinking what if I add a 1000M NIC. would this change totally. Afterall my router has gigabit support for all LAN ports and gigabit card is reasonable cost to add onto my computer.
question is would celeron 2G CPU going to be limiting? I hope not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerasimos_h
Site Admin


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1752
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2010 3:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It depends, theoretically, you will not have problem.
I had a 2.4G celeron on mine, and upgrade to a northwood P4 2.6 and see a slight difference, but both results were acceptable.
The big difference is made by the ethernet controller chipset.

gerasimos_h

_________________
Superb! Mini Server Project Manager
http://sms.it-ccs.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    SMS Forum Index » SMS User Support All times are GMT + 2 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum

SMS - Superb! Mini Server Project © 2016
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
iCGstation v1.0 Template By Ray © 2003, 2004 iOptional