Log inUsernamePassword
Log me on automatically each visit    
Register
Register
Log in to check your private messages
Log in to check your private messages
SMS Forum Index » SMS User Support

Post new topic   Reply to topic
SMS AND NFS SERVER Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
miikew
Member


Joined: 28 Oct 2009
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i only write an ip in tightvnc

do i need also put port info ?

ex. IP:PORT ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerasimos_h
Site Admin


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1753
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

IP or hostname and display e.g. sms:1 or 192.168.0.2:2.

gerasimos_h

_________________
Superb! Mini Server Project Manager
http://sms.it-ccs.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
miikew
Member


Joined: 28 Oct 2009
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 8:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

root@mediaserver:/# etc/rc.d/rc.vncservers start
Starting VNC server: 1:root
New 'X' desktop is mediaserver:1

Creating default startup script /root/.vnc/xstartup
Starting applications specified in /root/.vnc/xstartup
Log file is /root/.vnc/mediaserver:1.log

success
touch: cannot touch `/var/lock/subsys/vncserver': No such file or directory
root@mediaserver:/#

here is what i get after starting vnc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
miikew
Member


Joined: 28 Oct 2009
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hurra it's working Smile

:1 was missing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
miikew
Member


Joined: 28 Oct 2009
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok last question, i monted hdd's to /./mnt/media and /./mnt/media2

i puted them to exports and want to connect from vista
what i need to wrote in vista ?

mount \\192.168.1.10:\media z:
mount \\192.168.1.10:\media2 x:

????
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerasimos_h
Site Admin


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1753
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 9:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Windows don't have mount command and can only see Samba shares (SMB) not NFS.
First you need to add your shares to /etc/samba/smb.conf e.g.
Code:
[MEDIA1]
path = /mnt/media
read only = no

[MEDIA2]
path = /mnt/media2
read only = no

Open explorer and type \\serverip or hostname in the address and you will see the shares
or from command line
Code:
net use Z: \\server\media1
net use X: \\server\media2


If you want a read only share remove "read only = no"

gerasimos_h

_________________
Superb! Mini Server Project Manager
http://sms.it-ccs.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gerasimos_h
Site Admin


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1753
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I was wrong after I google it, It seems vista supports NFS but you need to enable it under program and features/turn windows features on or off.
Takes quite a time to install but afterwards still doesn't work as it should.
I try it, you need to mount as
Code:
mount 192.168.1.10:/mnt/media z:
mount 192.168.1.10:/mnt/media2 x:

but although it said successfully there are only browseable through cmd.
If you type 'mount' will show you the shares.
I didn't restart, might show them after, anyway on windows you will not find anything faster than SMB.

gerasimos_h

_________________
Superb! Mini Server Project Manager
http://sms.it-ccs.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
miikew
Member


Joined: 28 Oct 2009
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 10:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah yeah i have mount program already, also i mapped my drives already but with net use (smb)

now i wanted to compare with NFS

i will try :/ instead of :\ Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
miikew
Member


Joined: 28 Oct 2009
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Fri Oct 30, 2009 12:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

AWESOME !!!!! everything is working

could you tell me how to install this rtorrent+wtorrent ?

i read about tflux and it seems it takes a lot of resources
i have cdextra inside CDROM just point me how to instal it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerasimos_h
Site Admin


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1753
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Fri Oct 30, 2009 6:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's quite easy, just mount your cdrom, something like
'mount /dev/hdb /mnt/cdrrom' and install packages with
'installpkg /mnt/cdrom/extra/rtorrent+wtorrent/*.txz'
add in /etc/rc.d/rc.local the line
'/etc/rc.d/rc.rtorrent start"
to start at boot.
By running '/etc/rc.d/rc.rtorrent start' you should have rtorrent up and running at port 81.
Look also at http://sms.it-ccs.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=1244#1244
for starting with rtorrent.
Don't underestimate torrentflux though, it's a good tracker and more stable in case of power failures, plus you can browse your files and download them through its web interface.

gerasimos_h

_________________
Superb! Mini Server Project Manager
http://sms.it-ccs.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
miikew
Member


Joined: 28 Oct 2009
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Fri Oct 30, 2009 9:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

many thanks from my side

all is working flawlessly !!

now i need to know how to disable rest services that i 'm not using

like tflux, mail ,other things

i only use FTP,NFS,SMB,TORRENT nothing more (and webgui)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerasimos_h
Site Admin


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1753
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Fri Oct 30, 2009 6:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To disable hylafax do
'chmod -x /etc/rc.d/rc.hylafax'
remove or comment faxgetty dialup line in /etc/inittab
Disable Whole mail system do
'chmod -x /etc/rc.d/{rc.postfix,rc.spamd,rc.mailscanner,rc.clamav,rc.dovecot,rc.saslauthd}'
Disable openldap
'chmod -x /etc.rc.d/rc.openldap'
Disable CUPS (print server)
'chmod -x /etc/rc.d/rc.cups'
Change passwords for administrator user and root
Add password to mysql or disable it (needed for torrentflux) with
'chmod -x /etc/rc.d/rc.mysqld'
change passwords to torrentflux
If you don't want the webserver do
'chmod -x /etc/rc.d/rc.httpd'
Change password for ftp users.

Do a ghost image of your server after it's done, 'cause that 8GB old drive worries me.

gerasimos_h

_________________
Superb! Mini Server Project Manager
http://sms.it-ccs.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
miikew
Member


Joined: 28 Oct 2009
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Fri Oct 30, 2009 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i now what you mean about drive Smile
i will do ghost for sure

seting up everything i discover that some movies from one of my drive are broken/not readable

they were fine before migrating to SMS

when i'm copying them, they are "not readable" after 30% or 70%
it looks like corrupted file but what is the cause of it ? and how to check the drive integrity is a mystery for me so i will be googling today for it

maybe the files are good but smth happens with FAT ar whatever it is called in linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerasimos_h
Site Admin


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1753
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Fri Oct 30, 2009 7:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is the filesystem of your terabytes HDD?
Leaving them as is ( NTFS or FAT) it's not wise, plus that FAT32 has a 4GB limit of files.
I always format my HDDs as JFS but you could use ext3 or ext4.
If you have files on HDDs, you need to backup them before reformat them.
You could download hiren's cd or UBCD livecd, they have hard disk testing utilities for all drivers by brand, to check the status of your drives.

gerasimos_h

_________________
Superb! Mini Server Project Manager
http://sms.it-ccs.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
miikew
Member


Joined: 28 Oct 2009
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Fri Oct 30, 2009 8:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah i will do that, i always use hirens

my drives aree ext3 drives
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    SMS Forum Index » SMS User Support All times are GMT + 2 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Page 2 of 7

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum

SMS - Superb! Mini Server Project © 2016
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
iCGstation v1.0 Template By Ray © 2003, 2004 iOptional