Log inUsernamePassword
Log me on automatically each visit    
Register
Register
Log in to check your private messages
Log in to check your private messages
SMS Forum Index » SMS User Support

Post new topic   Reply to topic
dns setup
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
baboo
Senior Member


Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 676

PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 8:59 am    Post subject: dns setup Reply with quote

I am a little confused when setting up dns. If my dns server has ip of 217.171.4.65, and it resides on host random.cliqn.com, do they share the same ip? Or do I give the host another ip?

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
baboo
Senior Member


Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 676

PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 3:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Upon reflection, I think the real problem is that I have never used sms as an all-in-one server. In the past I have installed multiple sms servers each with different components. I want to use sms and all the servers on one box.

So, if I use sms as one single box, how do I configure the addresses? Meaning, do I need a different ip for dns, email, web server, and firewall?

If so, do I use virtual ips for those components?

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerasimos_h
Site Admin


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1753
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 10:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It depends what you want to configure.
Setting a Domain name Server over the internet it's not something depending from you.
If your ISP or you, register your ip (217.171.4.65) to listen on random.cliqn.com
then that's your server, either the IP or domain.
You can create an MX entry in your BIND configuration for mailserver.
Your mail server will listen either in your IP or domain you just have to rewrite the headers to look different in envelope but in your header files will show up your IP or your register domain.
For example one of the MX entries of gmail.com is mail-ew0-f31.google.com (209.85.219.31).
If you examine the full headers from any email message you will see what I mean.
Virtual IPs are most likely for hosting servers.

gerasimos_h

_________________
Superb! Mini Server Project Manager
http://sms.it-ccs.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
baboo
Senior Member


Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 676

PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 11:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for the reply.

I want to configure everything on sms on one box. So, if I understand you correctly, by
configuring dns and domain name I would be using the same ip?

Sorry, just trying to get this clear in my mind.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerasimos_h
Site Admin


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1753
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 6:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeap since your are using one machine for all you will have
example
MailServer 217.171.4.65:25,143
FTP 217.171.4.65:21
HTTP 217.171.4.65:80
SSH 217.171.4.65:22

gerasimos_h

_________________
Superb! Mini Server Project Manager
http://sms.it-ccs.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
baboo
Senior Member


Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 676

PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thank you. I appreciate the help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
baboo
Senior Member


Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 676

PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 8:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In other distros, I w0ould edit ifcfg-eth0 and put device=eth0:1 and then an ip.

But I have not been successful in finding out how that is done in slackware. Could you please tell me where I would make the changes?

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerasimos_h
Site Admin


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1753
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

/etc/rc.d/rc.inet1.conf
Code:
# Config information for eth0:
IPADDR[0]=""
NETMASK[0]=""
USE_DHCP[0]="yes"
DHCP_HOSTNAME[0]=""


gerasimos_h

_________________
Superb! Mini Server Project Manager
http://sms.it-ccs.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
baboo
Senior Member


Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 676

PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks - but I know about rc.inet1.conf file. I tried creating an entry eth0:1 and new ip but that did not work.

I tried giving two different ips for eth0 and that did not work.

So, I am not sure what you are saying when you show the inet1.confile entry.

sorry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerasimos_h
Site Admin


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1753
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's the file, you need to edit., then run /etc/rc.d/rc.inet1
That's the file netconfig use to alter ethernet IP.
Some time require to disable and enable eth0.
ifconfig eth0 down && ifconfig eth0 up

You may also need to check your udev rules if you have two ethernet adapters,
to see if the adapter you want to configure has the correct (eth) number with the one in /etc/rc.d/rc.inet1.conf.

Remove USE_DHCP[0]= line from configuration.

gerasimos_h

_________________
Superb! Mini Server Project Manager
http://sms.it-ccs.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    SMS Forum Index » SMS User Support All times are GMT + 2 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum

SMS - Superb! Mini Server Project © 2016
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
iCGstation v1.0 Template By Ray © 2003, 2004 iOptional